I found this really cool article on music technologist Gil Weinberg, the founder of the Music Technology program at Georgia Tech. He’s being interview by Sam Roth, an 11th grader in New York City about his experience speaking at TEDYouth 2014. Check it out.

TED Blog

Engineer and musician Gil Weinberg creates robots that are able to improvise. This robotic drum prosthetic can play beats no human can. Photo: Courtesy of Gil Weinberg Engineer and musician Gil Weinberg builds musical robots that improvise. This robotic drumming prosthesis can play beats no human can. Photo: Courtesy of Gil Weinberg

Gil Weinberg creates musically included robots so good they can improvise. The founder of the Music Technology program at Georgia Tech, he also creates innovative music apps and has contributed his technologies to many a band and ensemble.

Sam Roth, an 11th grader in New York City, was excited to interview Weinberg about his experience speaking at TEDYouth 2014. Below, an edited transcript of their conversation.

How did you get involved with music technology?

I was a musician first — I played piano until college. Only when I got to college did I start to get interested in computation and computer science. Then I thought that it could be an interesting idea to combine both of them. I was playing with a jazz band and, at some point…

View original post 567 more words

